Nuggrocket88

New to LED's Best color spectrums?

Hi Everybody, I'm not new to the show, I'm just new to using LED's. Here's the question. I have an LED with 3 light switches to control the Blue, Red & White color spectrums. I can basically choose the color combinations. From what I've researched it's "better" to use a "fuller" spectrum when in Veg, or Flower. Meaning I can add white, and/or red to the main color "Blue" when I'm in Veg. And the same for flower...I can mix the white & Blue to the main red. My question is...What is the best color combinations for Veg, and what is the best color combos for Flower? Would a "FULL" spectrum work best for Veg, and flower? My guess is...I don't know lol...Thanks...standing by fore the great info that I expect from CC readers. Hi Marc! I'm so glad that you are home!!! You and I spent a whole afternoon on Hastings awhile back talking about surfactants of all things...Be blessed Buddy

• Like 1

Hi Nuggrocket. :cool:

Think about 2 concepts - the action spectrum and the absorption spectrum.  The action spectrum is the typical graph you've seen with peaks in chlorophyll synthesis and chloroplast production in the blue region and then again in the red region.  The absorption spectrum is the other graph you've seen that represents photosynthetic response and has a minor peak in the blue region, a valley in the green wavelengths, then a steadily rising trend throughout the yellow-orange region, followed by a major peak in the red wavelengths.  Seedlings and young plants respond best to the action spectrum.  Once established, the absorption spectrum begins to really kick in.  So, blue + red for seedlings/young plants/cut rooting, and blue + red + white for fully vegging plants thru harvest. 

For whatever it's worth, I stay with the action spectrum until the plants have 5 - 6 fully developed nodes, then I switch to absorption spectrum.