Tungee0

New Grower: What should I do here?

18 posts in this topic

Ok, so it's my first time growing, and something came up I felt it would be better to ask what to do.  My first plant started out great, but I think I had it a bit too close to the LED light when it started, and the first two leaves yellowed.  More leaves have grown since, but the original two have gotten even more yellow (and edges were a bit burned).  I'm pretty sure the plant is still savable, but my question is :

Should I clip these two leaves or let them go?  I've read that clipping can help the plant stop wasting energy, but currently there aren't that many leaves and didn't know it was worth it (or more worth it).  I'll include a picture of the plant (shrug it's in a plastic cup till I transfer it because I was one piece of pottery short, the rest are in suitable pots).

So, clip or don't clip?  Thank you for your time and any help you can give.

post-129909-0-12647000-1465341503_thumb.

P.S. In my opinion it looks a more yellow in real life, the picture looks better to me than it really does.

High Tungee0 and welcome to CC!

Leave those older leaves on until they've gone completely yellow as they are still working to help that little plant grow.  The new growth looks like it's coming in fine so those old ones won't matter a bit soon once there is more new ones.  The plant will eventually suck the nutrients out of them and you can pinch them off when they get worn out.

:peace:

Are you providing nutrition?

I am providing a small amount of plant food, highly diluted (~1/10 normal) at this stage.  They are less than two weeks old so they've only had one time being given plant food.