Shoutbox

Resize Shouts Area

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo

killing spider mites in 2012..what's best?

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Harvey_M

Harvey_M

Old hand

• Members
  • 1,140 posts

Posted 28 August 2012 - 03:35 PM

So, I've been using azamax for a couple years now, but it's just not working anymore. It also killed probably at least 50% of my clones, completely stopped them from rooting. I don't know if my bottle is just getting old, or the mites are mutating, or what, but the azamax is causing a lot of damage now without killing the damn mites, and this is really starting to annoy me.

Hence this thread. Any of you guys know of any really good natural methods that can be used even during flowering? Are there any new products out there that kick ass?

I have read quite a few threads on here about spider mite cures, including the stickied thread in this forum, but I can't help wonder if there's something better I just won't know about until I ask.

I am also very intrigued by akfatman's mention of using nicotine to kill the mites, especially since it can be easily removed from budded plants, and does not remain systemic during the flush.

So yeah, what's better than azamax in 2012..?
9/11 was an inside job.
Rights are only protected by force, so be strong.
End the Fed.

#2 jetski

jetski

Old hand

• Members
  • 1,018 posts
  • Locationcanada

Posted 28 August 2012 - 04:33 PM

The problem with poisons is if you don't completely eradicate them they can eventually become immune. I suspect this is your problem

i use Neem oil. It doesn't poison them it suffocates them so they are unlikely to become immune. You put a few drops in some warm water in a spray bottle. Putting some washing up detergent is worth doing as it helps mix it up. Spray the whole plant leaving nothing untouched. this will not kill the eggs so you will need to repeat the process after 3 days